Sheffield Leadership Award

The Sheffield Leadership Award, established in 1994, is presented by the Rotary Club of Americus in honor of three Past District Governors – all from the same family and the Americus Rotary Club. It honors John West Sheffield (District 39, 1926-27), John W. Sheffield (District 690, 1961-62), and Langdon Sheffield (District 690, 1975-76), who have each served this Rotary District as District Governors.

The award is presented annually to the District 6900 club presidents (from each of the club size categories) who best exemplify the extraordinary leadership traits represented by the Sheffield family and execute their responsibilities in an exceptional manner.

An annual "black tie" affair, the Sheffield Awards Gala honors the recipients of the Sheffield Award. The award is presented annually to the District 6900 club presidents (from each of the club size categories) who best exemplify the extraordinary leadership traits represented by the Sheffield family and execute their responsibilities in an exceptional manner.

The is traditionally held at The Carnegie, located at 111 S. Jackson St. in Americus, Georgia after the annual Rotary District 6900 District Conference. The Gala includes the meal and all amenities for the evening. A silent auction is held that includes first-class items that are local to Americus, artwork, stays at Rotarian-affiliated vacation areas outside the Americus area, and more.

Rotarians interested in attending should contact an Americus Rotarian for further details.

Sheffield Award Winners

1993 - 1994, Governor Bill Stubbs
Bob Cunningham Brookhaven
Al Lipphardt Stone Mountain
Frank Skinner Atlanta
1994 - 1995 Governor Robert Jinright
Carol Johnson Colon Fayetteville
Gene McNease Thomasville
1995 - 1996 Governor J. Barry Smith
Phil Vincent
Mitchelle Johnson Brookhaven
William MacDonald Peachtree City
1996 - 1997 Governor Bill Foster
John Thornton
Douglas County
William K. Hilley Marietta Metro
R. Wayne Livingston LaGrange
1997 - 1998 Governor Bill Mulkey
Roy L. Strickland
Stephen Hackett Alpharetta
John Bob Tumperi Newnan
1998 - 1999 Governor Ann Johnson
Sue Lewis North Atlanta
Fred Denkman Alpharetta
Jerry M. Hux Buckhead
Fred L. Jones LaGrange
1999 - 2000 Governor Al Lipphardt
John R. Johnson Quitman
Arthur McLung West End
Allen Dalton Roswell
2000 - 2001 Governor Jim Burnaw
William H. Adams South Cobb
Lance Reising North Atlanta
James M. Cook Roswell
2001 - 2002 Governor Robert Hall
Robert Adams Dunwoody Sunset
Casey Farmer Stone Mountain
Stephen Corder Alpharetta
Donna Turner Peachtree City
Edward Titus Thomasville
2002 - 2003 Governor Tom Kent, Jr
Nick Spates Atlanta Peachtree
Ted Propes Vinings
Fred Brandt Dunwoody
Franklin McBurney Atlanta
2003 - 2004 Governor Bill MacDonald
Joie S. Hain Windward
William Thorneloe Vinings
William Woulfin Dunwoody
David Young Roswell
2004 - 2005 Governor Fran Milberg
Karen Harville Thomaston/Upson County
James A. Polk Vinings
Sally Platt Marietta Metro
Harvey Smith Roswell
2005 - 2006 Governor Claudia Mertl
William Compton Windward
Marsha Souders North Atlanta
Don Smith Americus
Cheryl Greenway Roswell
2006 - 2007 Governor Steve Stanfield
Terry Schaede Atlanta Airport
McClellan Cox Northlake
Miley Adams Camilla
Mary Chapman Peachtree City
2007 - 2008 Governor Bill Woulfin
Court Dowis Harris County
Michelle Deraney Henry County
David Galloway Newnan
Richard Stormont Atlanta
Bill Ward Griffin
2008 - 2009 Governor Ted Propes
Alicia Michael Carrollton Dawnbreakers
Raymond Ray Griffin Daybreak
Adele Grubbs Marietta
John Hipes Alpharetta
Bob Hagan Roswell
2009 - 2010 Governor Roy Strickland
Cynthia Monsour Coweta Fayette
Kurt von Borries East Cobb
Doug Cantrell Newnan
Elwyn Gaissert Roswell
Bill Nordmark
2010-2011 Governor Casey Farmer
Brenda Hodges-Tiller Dawson
Mark Stone Barnesville
Clayton Hicks Newnan
Joe Brown Thomasville
2011-2012 Governor Margie Kersey
Michael Paulk Polk County
Onuzulike Nwizu Northlake
Laura Kann Dunwoody
Stephanie Windham
2012-2013 Governor Cheryl Greenway
Rick Lowe Muscogee
Phillip Bell Barnesville
William Weeks Alpharetta
Candace Klein Buckhead
2013-2014 Governor Blake McBurney
Ginger Queener Coweta-Fayette
Jaclyn Donovan Americus
Jim Squire Sandy Springs
Amy Leuenberger Peachtree City
Robert Balentine Atlanta
Dave Schmit Roswell
2014-2015 Governor Alicia Michael
Melia Davis Pelham
Jon Yaeger North Atlanta
Gayle Woolard Dougherty County
Ryan Clements Columbus
2015-2016 Governor Bob Hagan
Michael Martin South Cobb
Kelly Hughes Barnesville
Kirk Driskell Alpharetta
Charles Lassiter Marietta Metro
Scott Rich Thomasville
2016-2017 Governor Raymond Ray
Kay Williamson Meriwether County
Bonnie Hardage Brookhaven
Neill Ferrill Vinings-Cumberland
Jason Binder Alpharetta
Jake Jones LaGrange
2017-2018 Governor Alec Smythe
Caesar Gaiters South Dekalb
Gina McCombs Lake Spivey / Clayton County
James (Jay) Gill, Jr. Carrollton
Terri White Thomasville
2018-2019 Governor Court Dowis
Cliff Wilcox North Fulton
Mary Trapp Roswell
Rick Woods Dunwoody
Andre Marria Thomasville
Becky Stone Roswell
2019-2020 Governor Jim Squire
Joy Manbeck North Fulton
Dave Schwickerath North Cobb
Rene Smith Americus
Ryan Swertfager Carrollton Dawnbreakers
Gordon Owens Roswell
Kim Walden Thomasville